Right Consistency, Wrong Temperature

Not exactly inviting an outdoor gathering...

Not exactly inviting an outdoor gathering…

Today I was writing about all the fun things to experience in sunny south Florida while I huddled inside my drafty house under blankets and in layers of clothing. The snow that fell yesterday and this morning is the consistency of sand but the completely wrong temperature! I acknowledge that sand can be cold but even so, I find it far more useful than snow.

While the snow reminded me of sand in texture and weight, there was definitely no warmth to it. I wrote about golden beaches of sparkling sand aside clear ocean waters even as my entire yard was covered with a foot of snow. Oh how I wish writing about a tropical place could teleport me there! The written word is capable of amazing things but it’s yet to magically transport me to the exotic destinations I write about. If it did, you can bet I’d start with somewhere like here…

Seagate Hotel, Delray Beach, Florida. Click image for info

It’s only January and where I live that means there’s still a good 4-5 months of winter left. I haven’t been able to escape to somewhere warm amid this winter cold since my daughters were much younger and we took a trip to Disney World with my mother. Being in bright Florida sunshine and blue sky in the middle of February was a splendid treat for all of us and I promised the girls we’d do it again someday. That’s a promise I refuse to break, it’s just taking me longer than I expected to fulfill.

Getting back into my regular routine and career of freelance ghost writing has required cleaning the dust that gathered in my creative mind during the holidays. It was nice not having to worry about working every single day and meeting deadlines but now that the festive freedom of the season is over, it’s time to return to reality. I do so love my job as a writer though and working at something I’m passionate about is invigorating for me. Still, I wouldn’t mind a nice, warm little holiday getaway this winter to tide me over until the green life of spring returns in May…or thereabouts.

Powdery and sparkly but not warm!

Powdery and sparkly but not warm!

About Lidancie Arts

I am a single mother of two daughters and I am a tough, independent woman. My creative passion carries into my writing and jewelry design. Through blogging, I share my experience, perspective, and how I hope to improve the world one word at a time.

Say something!

