What Can Be Built in a Day

There’s that expression “Rome wasn’t built in a day” and while that’s true, there’s still a lot that can be accomplished in one day! At least for a multi-tasker like myself.

The temperature today was in the single digits with a wind chill below zero as the snow cascaded down in tiny, icy snowballs all day long. I only went out long enough for Jazz to do her business and after that we’d snuggle up inside, her in her doggy sweater and me in multiple layers. Days like these I am extremely grateful I don’t have to drive to my job anymore. My job is comfortably in my home where my desk offers me a view of the plows going by every hour or so.

A storm outside is a perfect opportunity to be productive inside and that’s exactly what I did. I started working on designing my business cards so I can actually get my name out there when I physically visit places in New England. I still think they’re awful but like everything in life, they’re a work in progress…

My business cards are still a work in progress...

A drafted up card. Less than exciting!

When I’d take a break from that, I’d work on building a location I’m using in my fantasy novel, Unbroken Flames. Many areas in the book are based on places I’ve visited in New England, Amesbury, MA especially. There are so many intriguing parts to that town that I adore exploring and incorporating my love of the area seemed like a natural thing to do for my book.

Today I worked on one building in particular that rests along the banks of the Powwow River in Amesbury. I took a few pictures of it while I was watching the ducks swimming around in the frozen water. It struck me as the perfect hideout for my main character during a certain part of the story. I’ve never been inside that particular building but I can imagine what it’s like and modify it to suit the plot. The proximity to the water and waterfall provide great potential for all sorts of interesting adventures and I’ll make sure to take more pictures next time I go.

You can be quite sure that I’ll give credit to all the places in New England I use as backdrops for my book. What better way to put a place on a map than to weave some magic, heroism and adventure around it?

The inspiration for a setting in Unbroken Flames. A building near Powwow Falls, Amesbury, MA

The inspiration for a setting in Unbroken Flames. A building near Powwow Falls, Amesbury, MA

This is what I had done by the afternoon...

This is what I had done by the afternoon…

Looks better now but more work to be done!

Looks better now but more work to be done!

About Lidancie Arts

I am a single mother of two daughters and I am a tough, independent woman. My creative passion carries into my writing and jewelry design. Through blogging, I share my experience, perspective, and how I hope to improve the world one word at a time.

Say something!

