Holiday Wishes Granted in New England – Part 2

Another view of the barber chairs in The Men's Spa at The Mansion

Another view of the barber chairs in The Men’s Spa at The Mansion

The coffered ceilings in the barber room.

The coffered ceilings in the barber room.

The event I went to in Peabody on the night of December 12th was called Christmas at The Mansion and it was presented by The Commerce Network NE and The Peabody Chamber of Commerce. I have no idea what their previous holiday parties have been like, but I know I enjoyed my time at this year’s event!

As I sat on the well-cushioned window seat in the large barber chair-filled room of the Men’s Spa at The Mansion, I looked around and admired the interesting architecture. There were walls of windows, brick fireplaces, coffered ceilings, pendant lights and sconces all perfectly placed throughout. There were so many elements I often write about in my interior design freelance jobs and I had fun spotting them all. I’d love to write about the history of that house and how it became The Men’s Spa. I can only imagine the grandeur of its past but it made an ideal location for a holiday networking party! Even sitting in a room filled with windows, I wasn’t cold and flowing space of the house and thoughtful details weren’t lost on me.

After I finished my second plate of food, complete with cookies for dessert, I began wandering around the mansion. I was fascinated by the large staircase at the front of the house and took several pictures. Unfortunately, I’m still not used to the camera on my new phone so most of them were out of focus. I posted a couple of the best ones here but if I ever go back, I’ll definitely be better prepared to take proper photos!

A view of the staircase going up.

A view of the staircase going up.

A more festive view.

A more festive view.

I snuck upstairs and looked around and found several rooms filled with massage tables. I swear the house stretched on forever! It was fun trying to picture a family living there filling all the rooms and I’m sure it was amazing to behold during the holidays.

When I came back downstairs I snapped a few more pictures of all the rooms with my phone camera to remind myself later what a happening party I’d been present at. That probably sounds peculiar but as I’ve spent the last several years of my life as something of a social recluse, it was quite a big thing for me. All of the T-shirts you see in the photos were created by Jackie’s Tees and Custom Apparel.

View standing by the front door.

View standing by the front door.

Looking toward the room where the food was.

Looking toward the room where the food was.

Looking toward the massage room

Looking toward the massage room

Some of the massage chairs downstairs

Some of the massage chairs downstairs

Amid my wandering, I began to hear a lot of announcements coming from where R.J. DeSanctis Entertainment had their DJ area set up. Curious, I approached that room and discovered they were pulling business cards out of a Christmas box to give away door prizes. As my business card was just my name scribbled on a blank card, I doubted I’d be called but I found a place by the doorway to lean and watch the entertainment. There were lots of nice door prizes like an arrangement from Edible Arrangements, Dunkin Donuts gift cards, duffel bags and some more whimsical door prizes like balloon hats and wreaths.

I watched the people at the event come up and claim their prizes and I felt that R.J. DeSanctis Entertainment did a good job of keeping the mood light, fun and amusing. When R.J. held up a little holiday top hat as a prize, I was immediately interested. He asked who wanted it and I actually stepped up because I knew my daughters would love it. R.J. said that in order to win it I had to put it on. With a little help from a woman at the party, I got the hat on long enough for the event photographer to snap a picture.

Photo of me wearing the hat from the event’s Facebook album

The embarrassment was totally worth it because I was so happy I’d won the hat for my girls!

The hat I happily won for my girls

The hat I happily won for my girls

Following the door prize giveaways, the party started to wind down a bit and I decided it was time for me to head out. I’d had a truly fun time rubbing elbows with all sorts of people who didn’t know me and I made a new friend in Jackie Moldau. It was just one more way that New England showed me that I really do belong there and that I have a very bright future ahead of me!

About Lidancie Arts

I am a single mother of two daughters and I am a tough, independent woman. My creative passion carries into my writing and jewelry design. Through blogging, I share my experience, perspective, and how I hope to improve the world one word at a time.

Say something!

