Beautiful New England

image

The snow and ice on the trees at one of the rest stops on the Mass Turnpike

I woke up this morning to a beautiful New England sunrise and it warmed me up despite the temperatures in the teens. I’m always so much happier being in New England, both asleep and awake. Jazzmin is still a bit confuse as to why our “house” is suddenly so much smaller than it used to be but she’s being a very good pup about it all!

Sunshine out my hotel window.

Sunshine out my hotel window.

Jazz watching the exotic NH squirrels...

Jazz watching the exotic NH squirrels…

Jazz eyeing my breakfast in bed.

Jazz eyeing my breakfast in bed.

Yesterday’s drive here was free of weather issues, much to my delight! There was one lengthy delay in Springfield, MA due to construction but aside from that, the driving was easy going. Jazzmin rode shotgun for a while but eventually moved to the back seats. I thought she did that to stretch out but she curled into such a tight ball in the seat behind me I couldn’t see her. She did enjoy watching all the people in the cars when we were stuck in the stop and go traffic and I opened the windows a bit for her then so she could sniff snort the fresh air to her delight.

Jazzmin chilling in the back seats

Jazzmin chilling in the back seats

I arrived at the hotel later than I’d planned and just sort of set my stuff down all over the place. Thankfully there’s an entrance door right by my room so I unloaded the car while Jazz stayed warm in the room sniffing the carpet and acquainting herself with every dog and cat who ever stayed here.

Jazzmin very happy to be out of the car. Notice the yellow blur of her tail!

Jazzmin very happy to be out of the car. Notice the yellow blur of her tail!

Once the car was unpacked and my belongings looked like they’d exploded in the room, I took Jazz on the walk I’d been promising her the entire drive. It was already dark out but there are tons of street lights around the hotel and in the surrounding apartment complexes so we had no trouble seeing. Jazz was fascinated to be out and about somewhere new and while it wasn’t a long walk, we had fun. I fed Jazz her dinner and set about trying to figure out what to wear for going out.

There was an event in Amesbury last night called the Restaurant and Shop Showcase and as I love Amesbury, I knew I had to go. I had a plans for later in the evening but I knew I could stop in at the Amesbury event for at least a little while. I’m so glad I did! There were quite a few people there and lots of yummy food to sample! There was also wine to sample but as I had to be on the road again later, I didn’t partake. I enjoyed fish chowder from Phat Cats Bistro and a stuffed Portobello mushroom from another local restaurant but I apologize because I can’t remember which one. There was just so much delicious looking food! There were also tables for various local shops too and I would’ve liked to look around more but my schedule was tighter than I’d wanted. I did buy the Amesbury holiday ornament though and will be putting it on my tree when I get home.

IMAG0116 IMAG0117

Ed Justen from Workspace 36 playing sax at the event. Sorry it's blurry, I was trying to be covert...

Ed Justen from Workspace 36 playing sax at the event. Sorry it’s blurry, I was trying to be covert…

I have some errands to run with Jazz this morning but beyond that, no big plans until this evening when I have a couple holiday events I plan on attending. There’s the Frosty The Snowman book signing at Jon P. Mooers Artist and Gallery in Amesbury tonight and the Christmas at the Mansion in Peabody, MA that Jackie Moldau of Jackie’s Tees and Custom Apparel invited me to. I’m so excited to have holiday events to go to!!! I haven’t enjoyed such festivities in many years and it’s fun being social again!

New England really is such a beautiful place and it’s truly where I belong. I don’t live here yet but I’m already laying down the roots for a very happy future here!

About Lidancie Arts

I am a single mother of two daughters and I am a tough, independent woman. My creative passion carries into my writing and jewelry design. Through blogging, I share my experience, perspective, and how I hope to improve the world one word at a time.

Say something!

