Warm and Glowing

Vintage plastic Santa and newer fiber optic tree

Vintage plastic Santa and newer fiber optic tree with my bigger tree in the background

Jaycie loved coming home to the little Christmas tree all assembled and lit up. She and Jordan are looking forward to putting the ornaments on the tree this weekend and helping me put more holiday decorations up. I wanted to have a few more decorations up before I get my girls tomorrow but I had some work to do this morning and then tidying this afternoon first.

Keeping my kitchen clean is an ongoing project. I get it all tidied with everything put away but it quickly falls into disarray as I bake and cook during the week. Not to mention that every flat surface is covered with the girls’ daily excess of school papers and mail odds and ends. This afternoon and evening I worked at putting everything back where it belonged and sorting through papers before tucking them away in their various files. After that I battled the mountain of my daughters’ clean laundry until every item was in its appropriate drawer and I could see the surface of my bed again.

My chores complete, I shared some peanut butter toast with Jazzmin and took a welcome break. When my hunger was sated, I went into the basement and pulled out some of my favorite holiday decorations. There’s the light up plastic Santa in his sleigh being pulled by a reindeer that’s been in my family since I was little, perhaps longer. I remember coming home from school to my childhood home and seeing that lit up by the front door, it always made me feel all warm and fuzzy. I also put up my little fiber optic tree that was new last year to replace the one I’d had for 10 years that finally broke. Lastly for the night was the Christmas banner I hung up on the outside of my front door.

I had tons of colored lights last year but they’ve somehow vanished this year which is both peculiar and frustrating. I love stringing holiday lights all over my house and I still need to put some up in my kitchen to complete the colorful glow. Looks like I’ll be picking up a few more strings tomorrow when I’m out. The girls and I are going to see the movie Frozen with my mom and then it’s back home for holiday cookie baking and Chex Mix making. I got some new ninja shaped cookie cutters this year and Jaycie’s excited about making those and biting their heads off. She’s a cutie but a little imp sometimes…

All in all, I’m proud of myself and know that I’m making progress with my holiday decorating. I’d like to get it all done before I leave for my next New England trip this coming Wednesday but we shall see. I know my girls will be happy with whatever we get done and I’ll know I’ve made it another warm and glowing holiday experience for them.

While I was writing this I was listening to holiday music on Pandora and they’ve been playing all the songs my mom used to play on her record player around the holidays, featuring artists like Bing Crosby, Johnny Mathis, Andy Williams and Nat King Cole. It’s not quite the same without the record pop and hiss but the music still fills me with contentment, joy and the urge to lay under the tree and look up through the branches and colored lights. Added to that music is Jazz’s snoring as she snuggles on the couch with me and the warmth I feel isn’t all from being under a fuzzy blanket and furry dog, it comes from my happy heart.

About Lidancie Arts

I am a single mother of two daughters and I am a tough, independent woman. My creative passion carries into my writing and jewelry design. Through blogging, I share my experience, perspective, and how I hope to improve the world one word at a time.

Say something!

