Disconnecting, Recharging, Reflecting and Reconnecting

Heavy wet snow weighing down my pine tree the  day I left NY for NH

Heavy wet snow weighing down my pine tree the day I left NY for NH

My plans to post a blog entry every day in November fell through due to several factors, one of which was the poor quality of the wifi access in the hotel I stayed at in New Hampshire. That limited internet access turned out to be a good thing though because it forced me to disconnect and unplug from the constant writing work I’ve been doing the past several months. Had there been reliable internet in the hotel, yes, I would have done some work. The powers that be apparently didn’t like that idea, so internet reception was inconsistent.

The drive to New England Wednesday night was harrowing to say the least. From 20 miles west of Utica to 20 miles east of Albany, I encountered heavy snow and slick roads. I drove slow and steady in my dependable little Toyota Matrix and she served me well! At times I was only gong 20-30 miles an hour but that was okay because at least I was still moving forward. The big snowflakes falling were mesmerizing to look at so I kept a keen eye on the lines of the road, which were thankfully still visible.

People in SUVs and trucks went cruising by me amid the storm and I saw several of them wiped out further up the expressway. Slow and steady gets there, fast and reckless gets in the ditch! I kept saying to myself “Just keep swimming, just keep swimming” and hoping desperately for the temperature to get above freezing which thankfully, it eventually did. Once I was out of New York State, driving conditions greatly improved and I even saw the stars at one point! I wasn’t sure they were still up there!

I was so stressed when I finally arrived at the hotel in New Hampshire, I couldn’t settle right away. It was past midnight and I knew I was exhausted but I was wound tight from the white-knuckle drive. I did a little unpacking, made up the bed with my own fleece blanket and holiday comforted and settled in for sleep. The next day was Thanksgiving and while it didn’t go quite as I expected, it was a good day!

Thursday night found me in my hotel room relaxing. I’d come back and taken a nap after the Thanksgiving meal at the church and couldn’t find the energy or desire to go back out again. It was nice being in a warm hotel room instead of back in my drafty house in NY. There was no snow to be seen out the windows and it was clear enough to see the stars. I relaxed on the couch watching TV, eating leftover turkey dinner and periodically playing the little ninja game I had on my phone.

My cell reception was pretty good so it was nice to still have that connection to the outside world. All in all though, I enjoyed kicking back and doing nothing for most of my New England trip. I went out Friday amid the Black Friday crowds but didn’t end up buying anything at the stores. On the way home from that madness, I stopped at a liquor store and got some spirits to help me relax. Once back at the hotel, I had nowhere I needed to be so warming up with a little alcohol was lovely. It all felt like a long overdue break!

I only wanted a small bottle but this was all they had!

I only wanted a small bottle but this was all they had!

I did some research on my phone and learned rather important details about Thanksgiving I had been ignorant of before. I have a new perspective on this time of year and my eyes are more open to the realities of history. I have so much more to learn and I feel I’ve been directed on yet another new and interesting path in my life.

I did go out and about more on my trip but those are stories for another day. For now, I’m just fondly remembering how great it felt to be forcefully disconnected so I could recharge and reflect on things. Now that I’m back in NY with my family and reconnected to all my resources, I realize I have a lot of work to do! Work of the best kind, work that I love, work with the goal of improving the world in my usual way of one word at a time.

About Lidancie Arts

I am a single mother of two daughters and I am a tough, independent woman. My creative passion carries into my writing and jewelry design. Through blogging, I share my experience, perspective, and how I hope to improve the world one word at a time.

Say something!

