Mrs. Santa Clause

christmas decorations

My mother is an amazing woman. We don’t always see eye to eye but I wouldn’t be who I am today without her. Her house always looks so neat and organized and everything has a place. I strive to be like that but it doesn’t always work out that way. My mom gave me a little plaque that says “Creative Minds are Seldom Tidy” and it seems appropriate.

For as long as I can remember, my mom has had a flare for holiday decorating. She knows just where and how to place decorative items to add just the right seasonal touch to every room. This year is no exception. As soon as the girls and I stepped in the back door this afternoon we were greeted by the sight of tinsel, holiday banners and colorful strings of lights. It’s a very welcoming and warming feeling to step into all that.

Over the oven...

Over the oven…

In the kitchen...

In the kitchen…

In the living room...

In the living room…

When I was younger I used to think that my father would make a great Santa Clause. He had the beard, giving spirit and hearty laugh. I imagined him dressing up in the red suit and pretending to be Santa Clause for my future children. My girls were very fortunate to have him in their lives for a few years and while he never dressed up as Santa Clause, they knew and now remember his merry spirit.

If my father was Santa Clause then surely my mother is Mrs. Santa Clause with her talent for holiday decorating and making my daughters and I so happy. She knows how to make everyone laugh and there’s always lots of goodies in the form of food and toys at her house. She loves to give and receive hugs and has a kind, giving spirit. My daughters are still of an age when presents of toys are what they focus on but for me, having the gift of my mother in my life is one of the greatest presents in the world.

About Lidancie Arts

I am a single mother of two daughters and I am a tough, independent woman. My creative passion carries into my writing and jewelry design. Through blogging, I share my experience, perspective, and how I hope to improve the world one word at a time.

2 thoughts on “Mrs. Santa Clause

  1. mariekeates says:

    Parents are something to be cherished because we never know how long we have them.

Say something!

