Spirit of Giving

My girls and I, Christmas 2011.

My girls (my blessings) and I, Christmas 2011.

Sometimes I wish I knew how to make my voice heard by more people. Especially when it has to do with something I believe to be a worthy cause like volunteering. I do the best I can with the resources I have and know that doing something is better than nothing. I am only one person but I believe that when I give all of myself to something, I make a difference.

Thanksgiving was one of my favorite holidays growing up. I looked forward to enjoying a delicious meal with my parents and my two older brothers. I always loved watching my father at work in the kitchen as he prepared all the fixings. Sometimes he’d let me help by stirring the gravy but usually it was best if we all stayed out of his way so he could work his magic.

While I have yet to achieve success at cooking the perfect turkey, I’m pretty good at making all the fixings. I have some secret weapons up my sleeve, namely the owl-shaped salt and pepper shakers that my dad always used to use. Every time I use them I think of him and try my best to channel his cooking expertise. I also have the decorative trivets that used to hang in the kitchen of my childhood home. In the picture below of my father cooking you can see the salt and pepper shakers on the back of the stove and one of those trivets hanging above the stove.

My Dad cooking in the kitchen of my childhood home.

My Dad cooking in the kitchen of my childhood home.

Yes, those are Potato Buds in the picture. My dad usually made those instead of dealing with peeling and cooking real potatoes. Somehow when he made them, they tasted gourmet and just as full of love as the scratch kind.

I will never forget the warmth and happiness of the holiday dinners growing up. Before my brothers and I finished school, became adults and started our own families. We started new traditions that are just as meaningful but there’s no going back and recapturing the innocence of our younger years when life seemed so much simpler.

My dad being a goofball on Thanksgiving when I was a teenager.

My dad being a goofball on Thanksgiving when I was teenager. He was making my high school boyfriend and I laugh so we’d have genuine smiles.

This year I’m starting a new tradition and doing something I’ve never done before by volunteering to help serve a meal. I’m a bit nervous that I’ll mess something up but I’m not going to let uncertainty keep me from doing something worthwhile and helpful.

My father was always volunteering at various organizations and he gave selflessly of himself to help so many people. It is in his memory and honor that I do this and I know he’s proud of me for stepping up and for trying to rally others to do the same.

It never hurts to try and it’s a noble thing to do what needs to be done instead of hoping someone else will do it. “You must be the change you wish to see in the world.” – Mahatma Gandhi

About Lidancie Arts

I am a single mother of two daughters and I am a tough, independent woman. My creative passion carries into my writing and jewelry design. Through blogging, I share my experience, perspective, and how I hope to improve the world one word at a time.

Say something!

