Tales of Amesbury, Massachusetts

Almost a month ago I wrote a post about one of my adventures in Amesbury, MA. The adventure was so inspiring that I had to write about it that very night! I was staying in Seabrook, NH and all I could think about once I returned to my hotel room was writing about what had happened. I eagerly transferred the pictures from that day to my laptop and began furiously writing.

I didn’t finish the post that night because I became too tired to think straight. When I went to work on it the next morning, I was dismayed to discover that the hotel internet was no longer working. This was more than a little exasperating but I refused to be deterred from my goal of publishing the post that day!

I knew that Dunkin’ Donuts had free wi-fi and I knew exactly where the closest DD was so I loaded my cargo for the day’s adventure in my car (I was heading to Salem, MA after breakfast) and headed out. I drove to DD, parked my car and went inside with my laptop. After buying a bagel sandwich and some coffee, I powered up my laptop and hooked up to their wi-fi. The post was already all finished in Word, it was just a matter of copying and pasting. Within moments my post was finally live and I exhaled in relief and happiness. That post was entitled Accidental Wandering in Amesbury.

Not many people read that post when I published it but I was still happy I wrote it all out. Today I finally decided to post a link to it on the Facebook page of the location where the most interesting parts of the adventure happened, Jon P. Mooers Artists Gallery and Studio. My intent was to share my story with Jon P. Mooers so he’d know I appreciated his hosting that night’s event. What happened went beyond anything I’d imagined!

Until today, the most views I’d ever received on my blog were under 100. I was happy with that though, I’m happy when I only have one visitor because that means someone is reading my writing. As of the moment I’m writing this I’ve had over 400 views of my blog, almost all because of that one post! Jon was nice enough to link to it on his gallery page on Facebook and the response from that was overwhelming! I’ve had several people from Amesbury leave lovely comments on the post and I’ve responded to all of them because I want everyone to know how much I appreciate their praise and acknowledgment. I feel so very honored that this one little writer’s voice has been heard and enjoyed by so many!

While that post about Amesbury has received the most recognition, it’s not the only one I’ve written about Amesbury. I created a new link on my main page that leads to all the entries I’ve written that have to do with Amesbury. My first visit there was in August of 2012 and it was one of the bravest, boldest, craziest things I’ve ever done. That story may never be fully told but I allude to it in my first post about Amesbury entitled The Best Laid Plans.

Today proved to me that my voice is more powerful than I realized and gave me great hope for my future as a writer and as a resident of New England. I envy the residents of Amesbury and I hope they always remember what an amazingly beautiful town/city they live in!

About Lidancie Arts

I am a single mother of two daughters and I am a tough, independent woman. My creative passion carries into my writing and jewelry design. Through blogging, I share my experience, perspective, and how I hope to improve the world one word at a time.

2 thoughts on “Tales of Amesbury, Massachusetts

  1. mariekeates says:

    I always find it odd the post that get the most views a d the different ways people stumble upon my blog. It is nice to think someone is reading though isn’t it?

Say something!

