The Boon of Blue Herons

The weather was so beautiful this past Tuesday that I decided to take Jazzmin on a nice long walk. We went up by the cow farm but to my surprise, the cows were all inside. If I was a cow, I’d have wanted to be outside on such a gorgeous day! I’m sure the farmer had his reasons for keeping them inside but it gave me yet another reason why I’m happy I’m not actually a cow.

While there weren’t any cows in the field, I did see a few barn cats trying and failing to blend in with the grass as they hunted for mice. Further down the road at the crest of the hill I caught sight of something tall and light-colored. Focusing in that direction I realized there was a family of three Great Blue Herons standing in the field.

I love Great Blue Herons because they’re such elegant creatures and they’re blue, my favorite color. I often see them flying overhead, flapping their large, graceful wings in slow, steady strokes to get them where they need to be. I’ve also seen them on the edges of ponds, lakes and marshes but I’ve never seen them standing in the middle of a cow field. I was surprised any of them were even still around because I thought they’d all flown south by now.

Not the best quality pic but trust me they're herons!

Not the best quality pic but trust me they’re herons!

I took several pictures of the herons with the camera on my phone as Jazz and I continued walking along the road. I thought they might suddenly take flight so I wanted to make sure I had at least a couple of photos of them. They never did take flight but the papa heron clacked at me in a warning manner. I’d never heard any of the noises a blue heron makes until that moment and I was thrilled to be experiencing something new. As we walked by, the herons moved further into the field and away from the road but I felt truly lucky to have seen them and it was a boon to my spirit.

great blue herons

I later looked up the various symbolism interpretations of the Great Blue Heron. Some said it’s the symbol of a solitary being who’s independent and good at standing on their own two feet. Some say it’s an omen or sign that it’s time to journey on a new, unique path. Others say the heron is symbolic of grace and beauty. I felt all these ideas resonated true with me but what stuck with me most was that I’d seen not just one heron, but a family of three. To me that reinforced the primary value in my life which is family. The love I have for my family, my hope for their future and their continued encouragement of me give me the strength I need to take flight and soar through the skies of life’s journey.

About Lidancie Arts

I am a single mother of two daughters and I am a tough, independent woman. My creative passion carries into my writing and jewelry design. Through blogging, I share my experience, perspective, and how I hope to improve the world one word at a time.

Say something!

