The Love of Little Girls

My girls are my world. They come first, always have and always will. When I have them, they are my focus. When I don’t have them, I miss them. The toughest part of my divorce was knowing that I’d have less time with them. However, I also knew that they deserved a happy mother and I wasn’t that while married to their father. I am a very happy mother now and just as loving, nurturing and caring as I was on the days they were born.

I feel very blessed that I have two little girls with such unique personalities and that they get along so well with each other! They both have certain aspects of me such as my curiosity, stubborn nature, sense of humor and creativity. Those aspects show themselves differently in each girl but they’re there. Jordan loves school and is excellent at it. Jaycie is very smart but dislikes school and would much rather be playing with her toys. What’s most important though is that we all love each other, get along and have fun together.

The girls playing in the fall leaves.

The girls playing in the fall leaves.

Doing some sort of peculiar dance...

Doing some sort of peculiar dance…

I have different ways that I bond with each of my girls. Jaycie likes to sleep in my bed with me sometimes and both girls love jumping on my bed. As it’s a memory foam mattress they just sort of practice falling on it which is always amusing. I help Jaycie with her homework as she often struggles thinking up sentences for the spelling words she doesn’t know the meaning of. She comes up with some cute sentences sometimes like “The hamburger crossed the road.” That one made us both giggle and shows her adorable sense of humor.

Jaycie walks Jordan down to the bus stop some mornings.

Jaycie walks Jazzmin down to the bus stop some mornings.

Lately Jordan and I have been bonding in her bedroom. She goes in there to do her homework when Jaycie is enjoying her TV time after finishing her homework. As I can’t write with cartoons on, I also go in Jordan’s room and we both sit on her bed and do our work. This has proven a good way to keep informed of what’s going on in Jordan’s life, as she’s more open to me when we’re both working. I tell her what I’m working on, she tells me what her homework is, and we commiserate about the “fun” we’re having.

Jordan multitasking by studying and petting Jazzmin.

Jordan multitasking by studying and petting Jazzmin.

Jordan multitasking by studying and petting Aviendha.

Jordan multitasking by studying and petting Aviendha.

My girls will always be my “babies” and my “little girls” even when they’re grown and out on their own. I don’t really know where the time has gone but I do my very best to enjoy every moment I have with them. I hope that they will always look back happily on their childhood and the times we all spent together.

Girls and I at Amesbury Flatbread Company

Girls and I at Amesbury Flatbread Company

About Lidancie Arts

I am a single mother of two daughters and I am a tough, independent woman. My creative passion carries into my writing and jewelry design. Through blogging, I share my experience, perspective, and how I hope to improve the world one word at a time.

One thought on “The Love of Little Girls

  1. mariekeates says:

    Funny hiw siblings can have such different personalities isn’t it? I have three boys and each is completely different to the next. 🙂

Say something!

