Snuggle Season

The weather in October was remarkably pleasant most days and I went outside to enjoy it as much as possible. I do hope the nice weather lasts into November and that winter never actually comes but I do eventually have to grasp reality.

My house is small but drafty in certain rooms. I cover the bedroom windows with plastic so we’re less frigid at night but I don’t fight with plastic on the other windows. My living room has a nice big picture window that gives me a great view of my front yard and the neighborhood “scenery.” That big picture window also lets considerable cold in so when I sit on my couch it’s a necessity that I find some way to stay warm.

My favorite way to stay warm is crowding on the couch with my daughters but when they’re not here, Jazzmin and Owl happily step up. All I have to do is cover myself with a fleece blanket and the magnetic pull of that fuzziness brings Jazzmin and Owl immediately to the couch. Jazz isn’t usually allowed on the couch so she loves it when I call her up to snuggle with me. As a cat, Owl does whatever she pleases so she’s on the couch most of the time. Jazz snuggles up next to my legs and Owl follows suit by snuggling up against Jazz’s butt.

Jazz trying to ignore Owl.

Jazz trying to ignore Owl.

Jazz pretends to be slightly displeased by the cat’s proximity but the two eventually nestle right into each other and are snoring away. Usually they make themselves so comfortable I’m practically snuggled off the couch. When I get up from the couch, even if it’s just for a moment, I come back to find my spot overflowing with dog and cat. I gently nudge them back over and while they huff a bit, they quickly resettle and we’re all snuggly again in no time.

My snuggle bunnies snuggling me off the couch.

My snuggle bunnies snuggling me off the couch.

I’m never cold when I’m covered with my snuggle bunnies Jazzmin and Owl. In fact sometimes I get too hot to stay under the blanket. That makes them rather happy because that means there’s more blanket for them. When it’s bedtime, Jazz is reluctant to leave the couch nest but her desire to be close to her mama in the bedroom always gets her moving.  I’m sure Owl enjoys having the couch all to herself and makes her own furry warmth through the night. Snuggle season has begun and I feel so blessed to have such wonderful, loving creatures in my life.

About Lidancie Arts

I am a single mother of two daughters and I am a tough, independent woman. My creative passion carries into my writing and jewelry design. Through blogging, I share my experience, perspective, and how I hope to improve the world one word at a time.

Say something!

