Living the Moments

My girls playing hook the hula hoop on the tree.

My girls playing hook the hula hoop on the tree.

Could I cram more work into my days? Sure. The biggest reason I don’t is because I prefer to spend time with my girls. I work as much as I can when I don’t have them so I can be as present as possible when I do have them. During the weekdays that I have them I cram work in while they’re at school so I can be done when they get home. On days I don’t have them, I work all day long. That doesn’t mean I’m working every single moment though. I do like to stop and breathe now and then and take breaks to enjoy the nice weather outside. I don’t think this makes me a slacker in any way, it makes me someone who believes in living the moments.

I don’t want my girls looking back on their childhood and thinking “Mommy was always working.” I want them to have happy memories of the fun times we all had together. Fun times like baking together, going for walks, making Halloween costumes, painting artwork and so much more! I want to be a good role model for them. I want them to see that a woman living on her own is capable of anything she puts her mind to. I want them to see that there’s nothing wrong with dreaming big and that you don’t have to sacrifice time with your family to do the work that needs to be done.

I’m not someone who believes that the moments I miss out on now can be made up later. I don’t think that it’s okay to sacrifice time with my friends and family now for the “greater good” of the amazing later I’m trying to achieve. I’ve learned that I have to make it all work together somehow. I have to keep taking steps toward my future while living in the present because I don’t want to look back on the past with regret. It’s a tricky task living the moments of the present but when it’s all any of us really have, I find a way.

About Lidancie Arts

I am a single mother of two daughters and I am a tough, independent woman. My creative passion carries into my writing and jewelry design. Through blogging, I share my experience, perspective, and how I hope to improve the world one word at a time.

One thought on “Living the Moments

  1. mariekeates says:

    Too true. When my boys were little I was lucky enough not to have to wrk, although we made big sacrifices for that luxury, no holidays, not much money. Now they’re grow up and gone I’m glad I had that time with them 🙂

Say something!

