Harvest Moon Wishes

Tonight is the Harvest Moon. I can see it out my daughter’s bedroom window as I sit on her bed writing this. I can also hear a squirrel rearranging his private harvest in my gutters which is hindering my enjoyment of the serene full moon. I can hope he’s only using my gutters as temporary storage until construction on his new tree nest is complete. Wishful thinking I suppose but then I always make wishes when the moon is full.

The last time I had the pleasure of viewing the full moon it was a blue moon and I saw it  from a darkened beach in Rye, New Hampshire. That night will forever be a cherished memory and it marked the end of a chapter in my life. That chapter encompassed the years I’ve looked at the moon alone, sad and filled with longing. The end of that chapter came unexpectedly and in the most amazing way.

Now I continue on the new chapter that centers around how I feel when I look at the moon. I feel in awe and blessed. I send my wishes to the moon. Wishes that everyone I love continue to be safe, happy and fulfilled. Wishes that my father’s spirit continues to guide me and give me strength when I falter. Wishes that the moon carries my thoughts to their intended destinations.

The end of summer is drawing near but Mother Nature has seen fit to bestow a few more warm days before the chill of autumn settles in. During the day, the butterflies, bees and birds make the most of the warmth and bright sunshine. At night the air cools, the grass grows damp and I wander out to look at the moon…and perhaps have a discussion with the squirrel rattling my gutters.

About Lidancie Arts

I am a single mother of two daughters and I am a tough, independent woman. My creative passion carries into my writing and jewelry design. Through blogging, I share my experience, perspective, and how I hope to improve the world one word at a time.

Say something!

