A Day at the Office?

On days I’m feeling “lazy” I sleep in until 6 a.m. Those days actually only happen Thursday and Friday because I have to get up at 5 a.m. Monday through Wednesday so I can get my day all arranged before waking Jordan at 6. From the moment I wake up until around noon, my days are a blur.

As a freelance ghost writer I research and write about a variety of topics pertaining to websites all over the country. I pretend I’m living in sunny California or tropical Florida or when I’m really lucky, my beloved Massachusetts. It’s easier to write about a place when I’ve been there but as I haven’t traveled all that far and wide, I reference photos and whatever other information I can find.

I don’t have set hours, I work when there are writing jobs which is usually an all-day thing. By the time I go to bed I’ve mentally visited at least 20 different places across the U.S. from apartment complexes to luxury homes to the obscure antique place off Route whatever. Β I’ve pretended to be all sorts of people from architects to interior designers to landscapers. I have been blessed with an amazing and creative imagination and I put it to the test every day and succeed with flying colors.

It was a dreary day out today. Rained, drizzled and was cold. I’m ashamed to admit I didn’t walk Jazz today. I didn’t have the time or the desire to bundle up in rain gear and slosh down the road. Jazz tried many times to give me the doggy guilt trip but I’ll make it up to her with lots of long walks next week.

I worked in my favorite “office” location today which is my oldest daughter’s bedroom. My desk is in the living room which is adjacent to the kitchen and listening to the refrigerator hum gets annoying after a while. So instead I take my laptop into Jordan’s room, settle on the bed and get to work. My 18-year-old cat Aviendha lives in that room because she’s afraid of the dog and when I work on the bed she’s snuggled up next to me. I invited Jazz in today and let her lay by the bed and Avi seemed okay with that. Jazz still seems to think Avi is some sort of weird-looking squirrel but I’m sure she’ll get over that eventually.

Really, Mama? You're still working?!

Really, Mama? You’re still working?!

Typing away on my laptop with Avi on one side and Jazz on the other makes for a great work atmosphere. I have a nice view of the front yard out Jordan’s window and I brighten the room with the warm light from the cute flowerpot lamp I bought her a couple year’s ago. I take breaks for lunch and an afternoon snack and to clear my head and Jazz always gets up and follows me around. My workdays are quiet aside from keyboard noises and I’m okay with that. There are no phones ringing off the hook, annoyed customers coming in or document scanners jamming and malfunctioning.

Avi curled up next to me

Avi curled up next to me

I have to work a lot harder than I ever did in my recent office job but as it’s doing something I love, I can’t complain. I know I’m lucky that the skills I do possess are enough to help me succeed in this life and that I can chase and achieve my dreams with determination, stubbornness and the companionship of a lovable yellow mutt.

About Lidancie Arts

I am a single mother of two daughters and I am a tough, independent woman. My creative passion carries into my writing and jewelry design. Through blogging, I share my experience, perspective, and how I hope to improve the world one word at a time.

7 thoughts on “A Day at the Office?

  1. mariekeates says:

    Sounds like the ideal life to me πŸ™‚

  2. Phil Taylor says:

    Hmmm…freelance ghostwriter? I never knew there was such a thing. I may have to look into that.

  3. Phil Taylor says:

    BTW, I always love that you include your pets in your posts.

    • corbingirl77 says:

      Being a ghost writer would probably sound more exciting if I actually wrote about ghosts πŸ˜‰ Of course I include my pets, they’re a big part of my life! And they pout if I don’t…

  4. Awesome post! I, too, have my cat next to me when I write. I look forward to my postings like this. Staying inside and writing my life away, just seems right. It feels entangled together, in perfect harmony. God bless you!

Say something!

