What I Remember

Image courtesy of Pinterest

Today is a day of remembrance. I don’t know that I can say anything that hasn’t been said by countless other voices but I’ll try. September 11th, 2001 was a day when I learned a lot about the world I live in.

I don’t watch the morning news so I didn’t know what was going on until after I’d already been at work for an hour and my boss came in. At the time I worked as a secretary for a lawyer. His little building was literally across the street from the apartment I was living in at the time so I walked to work. My boss said something about a plane crashing into the World Trade Center Towers and my first thoughts were “what and where is the World Trade Center?” and “oh, it was probably a little private plane.”

A few minutes later I checked the internet to see what he was talking about and I saw footage of the first plane crashing into the tower. A lump formed in my throat, tears welled in my eyes and my heart sunk into my feet. I stared in disbelief at what I was seeing. Those huge towers made the planes look so small but I knew there were countless lives in danger and already lost. Then when I saw the second plane crash into the other tower, time seemed to stop. None of it made sense, none of it felt real.

I did not personally know any of the victims of the 9/11 attacks but we’re all living creatures and such a monumental loss of life was devastating. Amazing stories came out of that day of selfless heroes and the uniting of people not just in New York, Pennsylvania and DC but all over the world.

I remember a week later there was an observed moment of silence. I heard the bells chiming from the multiple churches of the town I worked in. I stepped out the front door of the office, closed my eyes and just listened. I sent my prayers to all those who had lost their lives, their families and everyone recovering from the events of that day. I counted my blessings and had faith that somehow, someday, things would be okay again.

About Lidancie Arts

I am a single mother of two daughters and I am a tough, independent woman. My creative passion carries into my writing and jewelry design. Through blogging, I share my experience, perspective, and how I hope to improve the world one word at a time.

One thought on “What I Remember

  1. mariekeates says:

    It was a day that changed the world. With a husband building aircraft and me working in the travel industry it certainly changed ours, although, at the time, that was the last thought on our minds. I watched the TV footage in the office and cried too.

Say something!

