Kicking My Own Butt

Home is 3 miles back that way...

Home is 3 miles back that way…

In case it’s not obvious from my last post, I love food! I love making it, experimenting with new recipes, sharing what I’ve made and of course, eating it! Alas, I wasn’t blessed with the kind of metabolism that allows me to eat anything I want without gaining weight. I do try to make food that is nutritious and healthy but there are times when I really just want a cupcake or ice cream…or both! I don’t indulge in such treats every day but I do have one piece of 85% dark chocolate daily. I love chocolate and I’ve read that dark chocolate is healthy for some reason or other. Chocolate keeps me sane so it’s definitely good for my mental health!

In order to indulge in my favorite desserts without risking my health by becoming overweight, I have to exercise. While I love to eat, I don’t love working out. I’m sure there are people that love working out and who look forward to hours at the gym or a 10-mile morning jog but I’m not one of them. I like the feeling of accomplishment after working out and the improvement in my body but during the actual workout, I’m usually uttering sarcastic comments at the perky instructors. But my point is that I continue to work out. Do I have a personal trainer or health coach? Sort of, if you count me. I suppose Jazzmin is as close to a coach as I’ll get because she’s always encouraging me with her pleading eyes, big-tongued smile and happy wagging butt that say “walk? Walk?! WALK?!!”

I started kicking my own butt by working out and modifying what I ate 9 years ago. I’d gotten up to 200 pounds and that wasn’t a healthy weight for my 5′ 5″ height. By eating healthier and working out twice a day to various DVD programs I lost 40 pounds in under a year. Was my body ripped and rock hard? Heck no! Then again, that wasn’t what I was going for. I was going for a healthier version of me and for my life then, I achieved it. I got pregnant with my second daughter 2 years after losing the weight but I was able to get back down to my pre-pregnancy healthier weight within a year.

I’d like to say I’m at my goal weight but I’m not yet. That doesn’t mean I’m unhappy with my figure, it just means I know I’m not down to my optimal healthy weight yet. The illusive last 10 pounds that won’t go away. Have I been working non-stop the last 7 years to lose that extra 10? No, not really. Do I moan and complain that I just can’t lose the weight no matter what I do? Ha, no because I know I’m not doing quite enough to lose it.

I go through exercise ebbs and flows. Sometimes I’m really into it and dedicated and other times I get so busy with other stuff, I have trouble finding the time. Would it be nice having someone to physically work out with aside from my dog? A human who said “hey, come on! Let’s do this!” Yes, it might be nice but I don’t really know. I get long-distance encouragement from friends which really does help but when that wanes, it’s all up to me.

When I really throw myself into it and am in “dedicated” mode, I can achieve some impressive feats for me. Yesterday evening is a good example. I’d been so busy baking and writing all day that I didn’t have time to take Jazz on our usual morning walk. I’ve been breaking up walking 6 miles into a 2 mile and 4 mile walk, one in the morning and one in the evening. As it was evening, I could only do one walk so I decided we’d do the whole 6 miles. If I’ve walked 6 miles in one fell swoop, it’s been so long I don’t remember. Jazz and I made it though. She didn’t really have a problem with it because I’m pretty sure she could just go forever. By the time we got home, I was amazed my feet were still moving. Every muscle in my legs and feet hurt and my nice, hot shower felt divine!

I took the day off from walking today because my legs really needed to recover but I did work my upper body. I have to work something or other or I feel like I’ve wasted the day. I’m constantly mixing up and changing the workouts I do. I could say it’s to keep my muscles guessing and it might actually do that, but it’s mostly because I get bored doing the same thing over and over. YouTube has become my best friend lately as I’ve found several 10-minute workouts to exercise key areas I want to improve. I keep accidentally posting what I’m adding to my playlists on Twitter even though I thought I disconnected the accounts. Oh well, I’m only human and there’s really nothing wrong with wanting to tone up my figure. If you’re curious what workouts I did tonight, I’ve included them. They won’t do much for you if you’re in Herculian shape but they work for me!

 

About Lidancie Arts

I am a single mother of two daughters and I am a tough, independent woman. My creative passion carries into my writing and jewelry design. Through blogging, I share my experience, perspective, and how I hope to improve the world one word at a time.

4 thoughts on “Kicking My Own Butt

  1. Karen Soutar says:

    What a coincidence – I also walked 6 miles yesterday! My walk was mainly to prepare for an 8 mile walk I’m doing for charity next weekend. I’m also a bit creaky today, but that’s fine as its a writing day. Unlike you I don’t have a dog to motivate me – although I could probably take Sam the Bengal cat. He will actually walk on a leash, unlike most kitties! 😉

    • corbingirl77 says:

      Good for you! 🙂 I used to have a cat named Zoey who tried to follow us on walks like a dog but she’d get tired and just wait for us to come back. Owl tries now and then but she doesn’t even make it out the driveway lol

  2. mariekeates says:

    Losing weight is one thing, keeping it off quite another. It seems to me maintenance is actually hardest. I’m a little shorter than you but got to almost the same weight you did and lost it in a similar way. Walking has become my go to exercise and most days I walk five miles plus. Once a week I have a longer walk and I’ve walked two marathons for breast cancer charities. Today it’s a fifteen mile stroll with my daughter in law who wants to drop the pounds she put on on honeymoon. I’m convinced walking is the best for of exercise

    • corbingirl77 says:

      Yes, I prefer walking above most other exercises, especially because I can do it with Jazz. I like doing dance aerobics too because my daughters participate and it’s a fun way to mix things up 🙂

Say something!

