No Rest for the Not Really Wicked

Jazzmin really isn't as neglected as she looks.

Jazzmin really isn’t as neglected as she looks.

Labor Day was created to be the “workingmen’s holiday” according to the U.S. Department of Labor website. As I’m a member of the workingwomen’s group, I suppose it doesn’t apply to me anyway. Being a mother and self-employed, I never really have a day off so all holidays mean is that my girls will be home from school. School doesn’t start for them until Wednesday. Today is just another day of work for me.

Considering that the work I do is something I enjoy, I’m okay with not taking the day off. I didn’t get paid holidays, vacation or sick days at my office job so having the day off meant I’d have to make up for that lost day of pay with writing. Working on holidays is nothing new to me. Any mother knows that there’s no such thing as a day off from being a mother. It’s a 24/7 year-round job. Even when my daughters are with their father I’m still their mother and what happens in their lives matters to me.

I had several dreams the other night. They were disjointed and odd but they all carried the same underlying message. I can’t continue to do the same thing and expect different results. I have to switch things up and keep exploring new options in my writing career. Between all the sites I’ve written for, I’ve created almost 600 articles with only 6 rejections. I’m biased but I think those are impressive statistics.  I often receive compliments on my work and earn repeat clients which boosts my confidence considerably! I’m always looking for more sites to write for but some of them require jumping through more hoops than I have time for. I just need a shot to prove myself and that usually speaks for itself well enough to get my foot in the door.

Then there’s the issue of me not having much time to write in my books or on my blog. I lose my sense of uniqueness when I can’t write in my own voice and take credit for it. To remedy that I’ve promised myself I’m going to write a new blog entry every day in September. So far so good! My next goal is to set aside time every night to write in Unbroken Flames. The ideas for that book are always flowing through my mind but actually writing them out just hasn’t happened. I’ll remedy that soon!

I have faith that I am always on the verge of my next big break and that after I get that, more will follow. Having a positive attitude has carried me far in my life and I’m not about to mess with a good thing.

About Lidancie Arts

I am a single mother of two daughters and I am a tough, independent woman. My creative passion carries into my writing and jewelry design. Through blogging, I share my experience, perspective, and how I hope to improve the world one word at a time.

One thought on “No Rest for the Not Really Wicked

  1. mariekeates says:

    Well done on making a living from writing. I wish I could do that, although I do love my job. Good luck with your own projects though. At least I have the opportunity to write what I want. When I want.

Say something!

