The Tenacity of Roses

Some very tenacious rose blooms

Some very tenacious rose blooms

A few months ago I had to do some serious pruning on the rosebush growing by my kitchen window. The bush is actually two types of rose bushes planted almost on top of each other for reasons I don’t understand. The previous owners of my house did a lot of things I will probably never understand. Somehow both rose bushes survive within each other and produce their unique blooms periodically through the season. One bush makes small, dark red blooms and the other makes larger, orangey-pink blooms that reach up quite high. I don’t quite think the colors work together but as they grow with little help from me, I’m not messing with it.

The bush had become overrun with vines that were not only strangling it but threatening to climb up the outside of my house if I didn’t get things under control. Following an afternoon of mowing in the hot sun I decided I’d tackle the vines since I was already sweaty. The vines were tangled around almost every branch of the rose bushes and other nearby undergrowth so it took considerable yanking and cutting to get them all out. In the process I also had to cut back a large amount of the rose bushes because they were sagging into the yard. Once free of all the vines, the rose bushes looked rather sickly and pathetic and I wasn’t certain they’d recover.

To my surprise, the rose bushes survived and their branches remained covered with bright green leaves. I received yet another surprise a few days ago when I saw that a handful of the orangey-pink blossoms had sprouted from the top of the bush. I’d completely failed to notice that it even had new buds! When I looked at it last night I saw that the smaller, dark red bush had also produced one little bloom further down among the tangle of bushes. I am so very impressed that the bushes found the strength to bloom once more after being nearly strangled to death by vines.

In my endless search for lessons and meanings in every new experience I concluded that the tenacity of roses is something to aspire to. Those roses kept growing despite the hardships they faced. Those bushes created new buds and blooms even when other natural elements had tried very hard to bring them down. Even amid the rain and gray skies, their colorful petals burn brightly and their fragrance is soft and sweet. Roses have thorns to protect themselves but they’re never afraid to share their beauty with the world. A rather unique demonstration of nature’s eternal sense of balance.

About Lidancie Arts

I am a single mother of two daughters and I am a tough, independent woman. My creative passion carries into my writing and jewelry design. Through blogging, I share my experience, perspective, and how I hope to improve the world one word at a time.

One thought on “The Tenacity of Roses

  1. mariekeates says:

    Your post reminded me of the brave little rhododendron in the enchanted park near me http://www.fatgirlslimblog.co.uk/?p=4369. It bloomed all through winter when everything else was asleep. Right now it looks like the effort may have been too much and I’m afraid it may be dead but I’m keeping watch, you never know πŸ™‚

Say something!

