A New, Exciting, Scary and Amazing Chapter

No, this isn’t a new chapter excerpt in one of my books. It’s a new chapter in my life. A chapter that took a majority of the guts I have to embark on. Last Monday I gave my two-week notice at the office job so this week will be my last week there. The job I have lined up to replace it is doing something that I love and that fulfills me: being a mother and a writer.

My years as a stay-at-home mother were the happiest of my life and I know how lucky I was to be able to spend so much time with my daughters as they grew. Thing is, they’re still growing and I’ve missed so much of their lives while working outside the home. After my divorce, I had even less time with them and that was heart-wrenching for me.

My oldest is going into middle school next year which doesn’t seem possible to me! I can still remember the doctor placing her on my chest moments after she was born like it was yesterday! I don’t want to blink and have another 10 years pass without me remembering where they went.

When I have my girls, my main focus will be on being a mother. When I don’t have my girls, I’ll be busy writing my fingers off. This is an exciting and scary endeavor I’m setting out on and it breaks rules I thought I had to live by.

This isn’t my first leap into the unknown but it is the first I’ve taken with nothing but my faith in my own strength to back me up. I believe in myself as a mother and a writer, even when my confidence in other aspects of me waver. Hopefully while I’m focusing on the things I’m best at, that energy will bring other positive changes into my life.

I am so optimistic about the future, even with all the new challenges that await me on this unexplored path. I wouldn’t be where I am today if I’d continued to do what people expected me to, if I walked the same trail countless people have walked before me. I forge my own path with a blend of stubborn determination, strength and fiery feistiness!

About Lidancie Arts

I am a single mother of two daughters and I am a tough, independent woman. My creative passion carries into my writing and jewelry design. Through blogging, I share my experience, perspective, and how I hope to improve the world one word at a time.

3 thoughts on “A New, Exciting, Scary and Amazing Chapter

  1. Karen Soutar says:

    Well done on taking this amazing step, and good luck! Sometimes you just have to jump..! xx

Say something!

