The Importance of Dreams

Dreams serve a purpose, both the ones we have while sleeping and the ones we pursue while awake. The dreams I have at night have given me great story ideas, signs about my life, messages from my dad and cleared out the chaos within my mind when it starts to overflow. I am always eager to sleep and discover what new adventures await me within the darkness behind my eyelids.

The dreams we pursue while awake can sometimes come from something we experienced in a sleeping dream.  A glimpse of a great future we never imagined before. Or the dreams we pursue can come from a wish we’ve had for our entire life, a goal we want to achieve. A desire to prove ourselves.

Regardless of where they come from, it’s vital that we have dreams and that we continue to chase them even if no one believes in them except us. There’s no expiration date on our dreams. We’re never too old to have dreams. We’ve never reached a point in our lives where we’re “done” and there’s nothing worth striving for anymore. As long as there is breath within us, there are dreams we can realize, if only we keep trying!

I am a big believer in dreams. They’ve taught me a lot about myself and the amazing feats I’m capable of. The possibilities are endless when I let go of the idea that I’m restricted to a certain path in my life. Pursuing my dreams takes me down roads I never knew existed and tests my determination and fortitude.  The easy route might seem like the safest route but is it really safe to merely exist when I could be thriving?

We are all mortal beings with a limited time on this earth and we owe it to ourselves to fill that time as fully as possible. Chase your dreams, own them, be proud of them and know that the harder they are to achieve, the greater the reward when you achieve them. Achieve them, pat yourself on the back and then pursue a new dream.

About Lidancie Arts

I am a single mother of two daughters and I am a tough, independent woman. My creative passion carries into my writing and jewelry design. Through blogging, I share my experience, perspective, and how I hope to improve the world one word at a time.

4 thoughts on “The Importance of Dreams

  1. Aaron Chen says:

    Dreams are super important. Good stuff

  2. Diane says:

    Love the line “The possibilities are endless when I let go of the idea that I’m restricted to a certain path in my life.” Definitely with you on that one. My life has opened up so much these past few years, the better I get at being in the moment and not getting caught up in having to see so far down the path.

    • corbingirl77 says:

      Thank you! When I haven’t chased my own dreams I get this sort of tunnel vision when all I see is where I’m going because it’s such a predictable path. To me, chasing my dreams means I can’t see too far down the path because the path is always changing!

Say something!

