Pacific Rim – Review

I’ve never written a movie review before and I don’t profess to be a movie critic of any sort. I’m just a girl who loves watching movies when she has the time.

I hadn’t seen a movie since Iron Man 3 so I figured it was time I go see something. I was in the mood for an action flick and I’d seen a couple of commercials for Pacific Rim so I thought I’d give it a shot. Wow am I glad I did! I had no clue what to expect and that hasn’t happened in a long time for me. Usually when I go to a movie it’s something I’ve been eagerly anticipating like The Avengers, Iron Man 3 and the upcoming The Wolverine. All I knew about Pacific Rim was that the previews piqued my curiosity.

I would describe Pacific Rim as Robotech vs. alien Godzilla with some Independence Day thrown in. It really didn’t make me think of Transformers at all because those are depicted as living beings whereas the Jaeger machines were made and operated by humans. It also had the Robotech-ish feel because those cartoons always seemed to have deep plots and interwoven story lines. I wasn’t really expecting much plot in Pacific Rim so I was pleasantly surprised. I thought they did a good job of giving the main characters solid back stories and making them likable.  My hats off to the writers of Pacific Rim because it can’t be an easy thing adding depth to a movie that involves huge robots battling constantly evolving dinosaur-like creatures on steroids.

I really enjoyed the stories and interaction of the two main characters, Raleigh and Mako. Being partnered with someone in a Jaeger means that your minds are joined together, the movie calls it a mental bridge. The two pilots are in each other’s heads so there can’t be any secrets between them. That would certainly bring an end to the question “what are you thinking?” in a relationship! Most Jaeger pilots are related, either siblings or parent and child. Raleigh and Mako are just a guy and girl who are “bridge compatible” because of how their minds work. Mako thinks Raleigh is brash and careless, Raleigh thinks Mako is inexperienced and overly cautious. Amazingly enough, those two seemingly opposite personalities combine to create one extremely kick-butt Jaeger called Gypsy Danger.

One of my favorite scenes in the movie was when a fellow Jaeger pilot insulted Mako’s honor and Raleigh asked that he apologize. There was no apology and a physical fight ensued between the two men. Raleigh is a good man, he’s not just some brainless brute who goes around looking for a fight. Seeing him fight to defend Mako’s honor (when she probably could have done it herself) gave me giddy girlish warm fuzzies. I suppose not all women want a man to stick up for them like that but I admit I’d be touched if a man fought for me like Raleigh fought for Mako. It wasn’t the fact that it was a physical fight that I really liked (though it was nice seeing Raleigh kick butt) it was the fact that it was so obvious Raleigh would do anything for Mako, as she would do for him. The word “love” is never used in the movie and there’s no kissing of any kind but there was definitely some romance there. Or maybe it’s just the hopeless romantic in me seeing what I wanted to.

I didn’t recognize any of the actors in Pacific Rim except Ron Perlman, though he doesn’t have a very big part. I’m fine not knowing the actors because for me that makes them more believable as the characters. I think the entire cast worked well together and I bet they had fun making the movie. There were a few hokey parts to the movie and I think that was their way of poking a bit of fun at the whole genre. The fight scenes were just so over the top that they had to break it up with some humor and levity. It wasn’t all dark, brooding and hopeless feeling. I really got behind the Jaeger program and how hard they were fighting to save a world that thought they were obsolete. There were several points during the movie when I got very anxious and nervous because I really didn’t know which side would win! Never know what kind of twists movie makers throw in to be different from the crowd.

After watching the movie my mind was on overload as I tried to process everything I’d just seen. I felt a bit like I’d lived in the movie and to me that’s the best kind of movie. Pacific Rim took me to somewhere new with an amazing story, great action and believable characters. I will definitely be buying it on DVD when it comes out so I can watch it several more times and catch everything I missed the first run through.

About Lidancie Arts

I am a single mother of two daughters and I am a tough, independent woman. My creative passion carries into my writing and jewelry design. Through blogging, I share my experience, perspective, and how I hope to improve the world one word at a time.

2 thoughts on “Pacific Rim – Review

  1. CMrok93 says:

    Not perfect in any way, but still a bunch of fun if you’re willing to accept monsters and robots brawling for over 2 hours. Good review Julie Ann.

Say something!

