Retracing My Steps

As I started putting the final touches on my upcoming autobiographical e-book entitled “Massachusetts Adventures: Boston” I decided I really needed to use Google Maps to plot the route I took during my first visit to Beantown. Drawing from my memories and studying the photos I took during that overwhelming day in the city, I was able to piece together where I went and when.

Wow! What an eye-opener that was! I know I have the tendency to get lost but seeing my route drawn out on a map made that ridiculously clear to me. I went forward, backtracked and followed that up by walking a large loop that encompassed a few blocks in Boston’s Downtown District and extended down to Chinatown before going back up into the Financial District. I didn’t have a map of the city, heck, I’d barely had a plan for what I wanted to do during my visit there.

When I showed the plotted route to my oldest daughter Jordan she laughed and shook her head. She knows me well and has seen me literally spin in the kitchen as I try to remember where items are that I need. I’m not the most organized person in the world, far from it, but thankfully Jordan didn’t inherit that particular quirk from me. I’m quite certain that when I return to Boston for a third visit (the second visit is yet a different story) with my daughters and mother, Jordan will have a map in hand and plan in mind as to where we should go. I’ll show them all where I went but then I’ll happily step back and let my daughters show me the way, as I enjoy seeing the city for the first time all over again through their eyes.

About Lidancie Arts

I am a single mother of two daughters and I am a tough, independent woman. My creative passion carries into my writing and jewelry design. Through blogging, I share my experience, perspective, and how I hope to improve the world one word at a time.

2 thoughts on “Retracing My Steps

  1. Phil Taylor says:

    This is funny because just yesterday I was thinking to myself how lost I would be if I had to use a map instead of my GPS.

Say something!

