Jumping from the Height of Luxury

The palace architecture resembled that of King's Chapel in Boston, only magnified 100x!

The palace architecture resembled that of King’s Chapel in Boston, only magnified 100 times!

I had a dream last night that I was in a grand palace. The palace was far too big for my tastes. Grand hallways of polished marble stretched on forever, fine artwork decorated the walls and the furniture was too luxurious and fancy to sit upon. I don’t remember why I was there but I do know Jazzmin was with me and we were both feeling rather lost.

I encountered some former friends while I explored the palace and after talking with them I just wanted out of the place. The friends had moved on with their lives and left me behind but now that they saw me again, they felt the need to brag about how happy they were. How in love they were, how wonderful their lives were, how they had everything they ever wanted. I was wearing jean shorts and a tank top while they were dressed in expensive designer clothes. My yellow mutt and I felt horribly out of place.

I was upset that my former friends were so obviously fulfilled without me in their lives. All I’d ever done was be kind to them and try to give helpful advice and they’d snubbed me for the “love of their life.” They’d tossed me like a dirty rag because I’m the weird girl who spends most of her time writing, walking her dog, listening to birds and watching butterflies. They were much more “fulfilled” spending every conceivable moment with their beloved. I didn’t care how happy they appeared to be because I was certain their words were lies and their whole demeanor just a well-rehearsed performance.

In my efforts to get away from these former friends, Jazz and I became separated. This was horrible for me because Jazz is always stuck to me like my shadow. Somehow one of my ex friends had lured her away from me and I was desperate to find her. I finally found my way out onto a balcony and gulped in the fresh air like a fish gulps in water after being on dry land too long. The luxury and grandeur of the place was suffocating to me and I wanted out!

While standing on the vine-covered balcony, I heard Jazzmin barking above and to the left of me. I looked to find her on a higher nearby balcony poking her head through the marble railing with her tail wagging happily. She was obviously very eager to get to me despite the offer of treats from the person on the balcony with her. As anxious as I was to be reunited with Jazz, I was afraid she was going to try and jump to get to me. No matter how much she loved me, I didn’t think even Jazz could leap that far.

So I shouted at her to wait, that I’d find her. Too late. Jazzmin leapt through the railing across the open expanse and poof! my dream created a balcony between the two of us for her to safely land upon. I was so relieved! She then made the last jump to me and I hugged her and praised her as her tail happily whipped back and forth and she rubbed her head against mine. We both wanted out of that place but had no desire to go back inside.

Looking below me I realized the balcony was now much lower than before so I swung my legs over and jumped down. Jazz squeezed through the railings and hopped down to me and we took off running through the lush, emerald-colored garden overflowing with fountains, flowers and topiaries. I didn’t need those former friends or that grand palace to make me happy. I knew in my dream, as I do in real life, what real love feels like. Genuine kindness, caring and love are luxuries and treasures far greater than all the money in the world.

About Lidancie Arts

I am a single mother of two daughters and I am a tough, independent woman. My creative passion carries into my writing and jewelry design. Through blogging, I share my experience, perspective, and how I hope to improve the world one word at a time.

8 thoughts on “Jumping from the Height of Luxury

  1. Great post! That last line is so very true. There is a peaceful bliss that is found in the simple life rather constant desire that is never fulfilled in a life of luxury. Keep up the good work and don’t let fake people get in the way of the real you. ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. Wonderful post! I would rather have a few genuine friends than a million fake ones. About the friends who left for the love of their lives……lol. Yes, once the shiny wears off, they deal with reality like most anyone else (I am this person). The dreamers, recluses, and loners (me,also)……..they find solace in their art as they live out reality. That’s the way to survival, to find an outlet so when real life comes calling, those loved ones and friends are cherished and don’t become just another burden on our time. It’s a delicate balance, for sure. I would love for you to stop by LaurieWriting sometime and let me know what you think. I write about life, laughter, and happily-ever-afters. Wishing you the best on this new day!

    ~Laurie Kozlowski

    • corbingirl77 says:

      Thank you ๐Ÿ™‚ I’ve always been something of an introvert and recluse with a small number of friends but writing lets me be more expressive and outgoing! Reading and writing are my escape from reality, even when I’m reading or writing about reality ๐Ÿ˜‰ I checked out your blog and enjoyed what I read. Have a great week!

  3. Awesome post! What a vivid dream. ๐Ÿ˜€

Say something!

