Mother’s Day 2013

Being a mother is my favorite and most rewarding job. It’s also the hardest. I always knew I wanted to be a mother. I felt I’d be good at it and I was right. Being pregnant had its ups and downs but as soon as my babies were born I took right to a life of mommy-hood. When my girls cried, I knew what they wanted. When they’re sick, I know how to take care of them. They are my girlies, my gang, my posse and I love them with all my heart.

Before I was a mother, I was a daughter. I was very lucky that my mother was able to stay home with me for the first several years of my life. I remember styling her hair with clips and bows and how much she loved putting my hair in a ponytail or pigtails to “show my pretty eyes.” I’ve learned a lot from my mom and I know she’s a very strong person.

My plans for the day are to hang with my daughters, do some writing and go to my mother’s house for dinner. There was no breakfast in bed or bouquet of flowers aside from the lilacs I picked for myself last night. I’m not a mother for any sort of tangible perks. I’m a mother because I love it and my rewards are the blessings of two beautiful, intelligent, clever and loving daughters.

About Lidancie Arts

I am a single mother of two daughters and I am a tough, independent woman. My creative passion carries into my writing and jewelry design. Through blogging, I share my experience, perspective, and how I hope to improve the world one word at a time.

Say something!

