Unbroken Flames – what I’m working on now

Vihresa frowned. “I don’t like the idea of you being hurt.”

Dvar laughed. “It comes with my job, Vih.”

“That doesn’t make it okay!” she huffed exasperated.

Seeing her dismay, Dvar turned serious. “Listen, Vih, I’m fine. I’ve been doing this for most of my life. I’m better equipped to handle this kind of thing than you-”

“Why?! Because I’m a woman?” Fire sprung to her fingertips in her anger.

Dvar’s dark eyes widened slightly at the flames. “Calm down, Vihresa. You know I’m the last person to accuse you of being weak. I just think you’re being stubborn refusing my help.”

The fire faded from Vihresa’s grasp. She sighed and her defensive posture softened. “This isn’t your fight, Dvar.”

“Since when has that stopped you from involving me, Vih?” The man stepped closer to her and reached his hands out to grasp her upper arms. “What aren’t you telling me? Where is all this anger coming from?”

Vihresa pulled away from his touch. “It doesn’t matter, Dvar. I don’t want you getting hurt because of me so it’s best if you forget about me.”

“I can’t do that, Firefly.”

She felt tears in her eyes and it infuriated her. “Don’t call me that! You can’t just suddenly swoop in and be the hero now! It’s too late!”

About Lidancie Arts

I am a single mother of two daughters and I am a tough, independent woman. My creative passion carries into my writing and jewelry design. Through blogging, I share my experience, perspective, and how I hope to improve the world one word at a time.

Say something!

