Believing in Boston

backbay1 backbay3 backbay5 backbay4 backbay2

My heart belongs to Massachusetts. That beautiful New England state has owned my heart from the moment I first drove across the state border in November of 2011. I felt like I was finally coming home, like I was somewhere I’d never known I belonged. This blog is not that story though. This is a different story and one motivated by the tragedy that occurred in Boston on April 15, 2013.

What happened in Boston on 4/15/13 was awful, senseless and wrong. But that’s not how I want to visualize Boston. I am certain there are already countless blogs from native Bostonians about the marathon day’s events and I realize my voice might be rightfully lost among them. I ask only that you listen to my rambling for a while…

When I step out onto the streets of Boston from the T I feel immediately at ease and welcome. I have both stepped back in time and accelerated forward into an amazing future. There is an energy and vibe to Beantown that is unique, powerful and strong. You might think that powerful and strong are two words meaning the same thing but not so. Boston had the power to change my entire perspective on what a city is. Boston has the strength to survive whatever challenges it faces.

On my last visit to Boston in November of 2012, I was in the company of my best friend and our mutual friend. I didn’t make it to the Back Bay area on my first trip so I wanted to go there my second trip, so we went. Back Bay showed me yet another side to Boston, a side I’d heard about but didn’t understand until I experienced it. I marveled at all the brick buildings and endless rows of homes. Back Bay has its own energy as well as that Boston vibe. I am always lost when I’m in Boston so I can’t tell you if I was anywhere near where the marathon ends. But I do remember and can still feel the power of that area, the history, the sense of community. It is its own world.

We remained in Back Bay as the sun set and evening darkened the city. We walked the streets back toward downtown and I was constantly looking around me, trying to take it all in and memorize it. As wordy as I am, I don’t think I can properly describe what Boston and Massachusetts mean to me. I don’t presume that they are as meaningful to anyone else, I can only know my perception. I invite you to experience it for yourself and draw your own conclusions.

It is unfortunate that the city I love so much suffered so needlessly 4/15/13 and it saddens me that it’s in the news because of a horrible attack. That is not Boston. That is not how anyone should visualize Boston. Boston is strong, unified, tough, tenacious,powerful, beautiful, timeless and eternal. The scenes and stories people need to remember most are of the people fighting to get to the injured and working together quickly to offer aid. Our history owes a lot to the people, power and spirit that will forever remain in that city. The negativity of the attack does not define Boston but the positive energy that comes out of it after this will rebuild its very foundation stronger than any bricks. My heart is in Massachusetts and I believe in the power of Boston. We all need to believe in Boston.

About Lidancie Arts

I am a single mother of two daughters and I am a tough, independent woman. My creative passion carries into my writing and jewelry design. Through blogging, I share my experience, perspective, and how I hope to improve the world one word at a time.

Say something!

