Frozen Moments, Flooding Memories

ice needles stream flood

It appears that it’s going to be one of those Springs where Mother Nature has intensely fluctuating mood swings. Warm one day, cold the next. Rain, snow, sun, wind and the other day, a mini ice storm. It’s hard to know how to dress and what coat to grab when even the weather apps I use can’t seem to keep up from moment to moment. The forecasters keep optimistically forecasting warm sun and when it doesn’t come I wonder if they fear for their lives.

This random and erratic spring weather coalesced into something rather inspiring to me during the thankfully short-lived ice storm. As I was driving home I passed by several streams that were overflowing from all the rain. These same streams were surrounded by bare-branched trees that were coated with frozen droplets or rain. All the buds on the trees looked frozen in time while the water continued to flow rapidly past them and it created a stunning contrast in my mind.

I have experienced moments that feel frozen in time. Some of these moments are amazingly wonderful and others are heartbreakingly painful. When those moments were


happening it felt as though time slowed down to such a degree that I wasn’t sure it was ever going to resume its normal speed. I can remember exactly how I felt in those moments because they were such intense experiences. Those memories serve me well, even the painful ones and I know I will continue to have them in my life.

As is true of the frozen stream that finally thaws enough to break free of the ice and flow unhindered, memories break free and flood my mind quite often. One little thing can trigger a sudden mental slide show of memories and feelings. Or perhaps my emotions have been building for a while, increasing as the Spring rains do, until at last I have to release the dam and let the banks of my memories overflow.

Such frozen moments and flooding memories are all part of the process of living just like Spring rain is part of the process of renewing the Earth every year. There is a greater purpose for all experiences and I imagine even the temperamental weather serves a purpose…aside from making me roll my eyes.

About Lidancie Arts

I am a single mother of two daughters and I am a tough, independent woman. My creative passion carries into my writing and jewelry design. Through blogging, I share my experience, perspective, and how I hope to improve the world one word at a time.

Say something!

