Excuses are Easy

Excuses are easy. I know this because I use them myself. Excuses are easy but work is hard. It’s so much less strenuous to give ourselves a reason not to do something than to muster our strength and just do what needs to be done! Sometimes when we give someone an excuse we’re trying to get out of doing something for them even though it’s within our power to do it. Sometimes we give excuses because we’re hoping the other person won’t sympathize with us but will in fact motivate us to do the task at hand. Either way, the ultimate choice of what we do is within our hands.

Yesterday morning it was rainy and cold so I didn’t walk my dog Jazzmin as I’d been doing the previous two mornings. I felt guilty about it but I thought I had a viable excuse for not exercising her. It was pouring when I got home from work so my excuse not to walk her remained. I was tired after work and it would’ve been extremely easy to just spend the night sitting and writing. That’s not what I did. After a snack I did the P90x2 arms and shoulders workout. When I was finished with that the rain had stopped so I got Jazz all collared and leashed and we went for a brisk, hilly walk. Was I tired after all that? A little. But I was so proud of myself for doing what I needed to do that my energy returned stronger than before. I know from extensive past experience that doing physical exercise increases my energy so if I just stop feeling sorry for myself, get off my butt and exercise, I’ll discover that untapped energy that’s always inside me.

I’ve been learning a lot more about energy lately. From a close friend with extensive dog knowledge and from the dog whisperer, Cesar Millan, I’m discovering how positive and powerful energy is important for properly training Jazz. She doesn’t know what I’m saying when I tell her “I’m too tired to walk you” she just recognizes my energy as weak. I can’t allow myself to emit that kind of energy. I am the pack leader and she needs to see that at all times. She doesn’t care that I’m tired after work and that it’s pouring rain, she has energy she wants to release, she wants to walk!

I have a very active and creative imagination and I can always think of tons of excuses not to do something. Excuses are a waste of my energy and a waste of my time. I’m tired, I’m afraid, I’m sore, no one understands me, everyone judges me, I have it harder than everybody else…those aren’t just excuses, some of them are outright lies. I do get sad and feel sorry for myself but ALWAYS without fail I come out of it and then reprimand myself for wasting precious time on the negative when the positive is so much stronger!

It’s entirely possible that my friends get tired of me trying so hard to see the positive side of every situation (and sometimes I fail at doing so) but I remain persistent. I’ve survived many challenges, so have we all, but if I’d given in to weakness I wouldn’t be where I am today and there’s no acceptable excuse for that.

About Lidancie Arts

I am a single mother of two daughters and I am a tough, independent woman. My creative passion carries into my writing and jewelry design. Through blogging, I share my experience, perspective, and how I hope to improve the world one word at a time.

Say something!

