Not profound

I wanted my first blog entry in the WordPress format to be profound, insightful, deep and meaningful. I don’t know that this will be. All that matters is that I’m writing and taking credit for my own words.My favorite ghostwriting topics are landscaping, interior design and parenting, not necessarily in that order. Here’s what I know about those subjects.

Landscaping
Landscaping is a dirty job and hard work. It takes serious physical energy and effort to maintain my property and every single tree I have is messy in one way or another. I spent my weekend picking up branches and raking leaf sticks, pine cones and branches. That only took care of three trees on a property with over 20. I’m tired and sore and I have a long way to go. If I had the money would I pay someone to do it all for me? No. As exhausting as it can be, I have a great feeling of accomplishment at the end of the day. I look out over the areas I’ve cleaned up and I’m proud of myself. I would get no such satisfaction watching someone else do the work for me.

Interior Design
Interior design is something I wish my 18 year old self had been smart enough to go to school to study. But I wasn’t that smart then and so I’m catching up now. As far as my interior design experience goes, everything in my house is there because I like it. I choose furnishings that are affordable, attractive and functional. Almost everything hanging on the walls are paintings by me. I choose furniture in colors I love so there’s a lot of blue in my home. My style isn’t shabby chic, rustic, contemporary, modern, etc. My style is Julie.

Parenting
My 18 year old self didn’t go to school to study interior design because I didn’t know then what I wanted to be aside from a wife and mother. I was a wife for 4 years before I became a mother. I was then a mother for 9 years before I stopped being a wife. I will always be a mother, it’s my favorite job in the whole world and I’m good at it, just like my 18 year old self knew I would be. I was a good wife too but I married too young before I knew who I truly was. Now that I know who I am, it’s unlikely I will ever be a wife again. That truth doesn’t make me uncomfortable or sad; it’s an acceptance of who I am.

Speaking of being a mother, it’s time to wake my darling daughters and bring this post to a close. Was this profound? I don’t know. I do know that it was me speaking my mind and being the rambling Julie that quite a few know and love.

About Lidancie Arts

I am a single mother of two daughters and I am a tough, independent woman. My creative passion carries into my writing and jewelry design. Through blogging, I share my experience, perspective, and how I hope to improve the world one word at a time.

Say something!

